Please wait...

The Arkansas Affiliate of Susan G. Komen Awards 20 Grants to Worthy Programs

April 9, 2013

Komen Pic 2013Susan G. Komen for the Cure Arkansas Affiliate handed out 20 grants totaling over $1.1 million to Arkansas organizations.  1st Choice Healthcare was awarded a grant for $31,775.
This year marks the

19th for the Komen organization to award grants to programs around the state who are working in the fight against breast cancer.  These funds are predominantly raised through the Race for the Cure® chaired in 2012 by Kristi Moody.  Also introduced was the 2013 Race for the Cure ® chair, Mike Gavigan.

A total of $1,104,947 was granted.  “We are delighted by the a mount we were able to issue in grants this year,” said Arkansas Affiliate Executive Director Sherrye McBryde.  “It is directly due to the hard work of our volunteers and the generosity of our supporters.  The recipients of these funds were chosen because they reflect the commitment of the Arkansas Affiliate to assure the uninsured and under-served women of Arkansas get the vital breast health services they need.  Additionally, $427,000 has been used for breast cancer research to help find the cure.”

The Komen Arkansas Affiliate first awarded grants totaling $78,700 in 1994.  This year the largest grant totaled $145,350 and the smallest was $4,725.

“We are so pleased to be able to raise almost 1.2 million dollars that will have a direct impact on the women and men of Arkansas fighting breast cancer,” says Komen Arkansas Board Chair Ellen Kreth.  “Whether they fight for someone they love, or fight for themselves, or for their mothers, grandmothers, aunts, or children, we join them in their efforts to eradicate this disease. We worked hard to earn this money and we are so proud to distribute to such trustworthy, valuable, impactful programs. Our fight continues until a cure is found.”

The affiliate also awarded its highest honor, the Hickingbotham Award for Service, to Barbara Daugherty. Barbara has served on the Board of Directors for six years and served as board president in 2004. She has just been asked to return to the board for a three year term beginning in April, 2013. Barbara has served on various committees and continues to do the early mail out. She is responsible for mailing 25,000 Race t-shirts. This involved a month of everyday managing volunteers.

The Hickingbotham Award is named in honor of businessman Frank Hickingbotham and his family who were founding sponsors of the Arkansas Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure.

During the meeting at the Junior League of Little Rock Building, the Komen Arkansas Affiliate also inducted Alesa Garner, Mary Ann Salmon and Jason Brady into its Pink Ribbon Society.

The Pink Ribbon Society is an honorary membership based on community leadership in the area of breast health and breast health awareness and given to recognize significant contributions to the state to advance the mission of the Komen organization.

Also awarded was the Promise of One Awards.  Long time volunteers Jack Powell and Angie Spencer were recipients.

The Promise of One Award, established in 2007 by Komen for the Cure national, is awarded to two local individuals each year in recognition of their exceptional volunteer contribution.


Komen for the Cure was established as the Komen Foundation in 1982 by Nancy Brinker to honor the memory of her sister, Susan G. Komen, who died from breast cancer at the age of 36.  Thanks to more than 75,000 volunteers dedicated to the fight against breast cancer, Komen for the Cure with its Affiliate Network is the world’s largest private funder of community-based breast health education and breast cancer screening and treatment programs.  Together with its Affiliate Network, corporate partners and donors, Komen for the Cure has raised over one billion dollars for the fight against breast cancer.




©2023 - 1st Choice Healthcare. Website by The Solutions Group